Category Archives: Action Alerts

ACTION ALERT: Connecticut HB 5832

1-Logos_Revised_2_BW-002

ACTION ALERT

CONNECTICUT:

On January 24, 2013, HB 5832 was introduced by Representative Diana S. Urban (D) and referred to the Joint Committee on Environment. It seeks to ban entirely Boas and Burmese pythons.

HB 5832 proposes that section 26-40a of the general statutes be amended to provide that “the sale, transfer or breeding of certain exotic animals is also prohibited and to add tigers, mole vipers, boa constrictors, burmese pythons and sea snakes to the list of prohibited animals. . .”
Herp Alliance strongly opposes HB 5832.  Since 1990, Connecticut has never had a human death or injury resulting from any species of constrictor snake.  In fact, since 1990, Connecticut has never had a human death resulting from any reptile of any species.

Please contact the Connecticut Joint Committee on the Environment to voice your opposition.  You can use our form below, which will send an email to each member of the committee from you, or you can use the contact information provided beneath it to draft your own email to each committee member.

Directions:

  • Fill out the form below;
  • Personalize your message in the box below or just sign it if you wish;
  • Fill in the text code below; and
  • Hit send!

We have temporarily taken our form down.  After successfully sending 360 emails to the Connecticut Committee members, our emails are being rejected as spam.  We are redesigning our forms now and will have a new form up later this evening.

TO SEND YOUR OWN E-MAIL OR LETTER,  CONTACT:

Connecticut General Assembly Committee on the Environment:  http://www.cga.ct.gov/asp/menu/MemberList.asp?comm_code=ENV

ACTION ALERT: New York A 2869

1-Logos_Revised_2_BW-002

ACTION ALERT

NEW YORK:

On January 18, 2013, Assemblywoman Barbara M. Clark (D-Queens Village) introduced Assembly Bill 2869 which was referred to Agriculture the same day. A2869 seeks to criminalize all ownership of wild animals or reptiles “capable of inflicting bodily harm upon a human” as a felony. The full text of A2869 is linked (above).

Herp Alliance strongly opposes A2869. The definition of “capable of inflicting bodily harm upon a human” covers all reptiles without exception and seeks to make ownership of reptiles in New York a felony.

Herp Alliance Opposes A 2869.

Please contact the New York Assembly Committee on Agriculture to voice your opposition.  You can use our form below, which will send an email to each member of the committee from you, or you can use the contact information provided beneath it to draft your own email to each committee member.

Directions:

  • Fill out the form below;
  • Personalize your message in the box below or just sign it if you wish;
  • Fill in the text code below; and
  • Hit send!

 

We have temporarily taken our form down.  After successfully sending 840 emails to the New York Committee members, our emails are being rejected as spam.  We are redesigning our forms now and will have a new form up later this evening.

 

If you decide to write your own email to the members of the New York Assembly Agriculture Committee, we have provided their email addresses below.

Bill Sponsor, Assemblywoman Barbara M Clark: clarkb@assembly.state.ny.us

Agriculture Committee Members

Chair- Assemblyman William Magee: mageew@assembly.state.ny.us
Didi Barrett: BarretD@assembly.state.ny.us 
Michael Benedetto: BenedettoM@assembly.state.ny.us
Ken Blankenbush: BlankenbushK@assembly.state.ny.us 
Harry Bronson: BronsonH@assembly.state.ny.us
Marc Butler: ButlerM@assembly.state.ny.us 
Clifford Crouch: CrouchC@assembly.state.ny.us 
Gary Finch: FinchG@assembly.state.ny.us
Aileen Gunther: GuntherA@assembly.state.ny.us
Stephen Hawley: HawleyS@assembly.state.ny.us 
Barbara Lifton: LiftonB@assembly.state.ny.us 
Peter Lopez: LopezP@assembly.state.ny.us
Alan Maisel: MaiselA@assembly.state.ny.us
Steven Otis: OtisS@assembly.state.ny.us
José Rivera: RiveraJ@assembly.state.ny.us 
Linda Rosenthal: RosenthalL@assembly.state.ny.us
Addie Russell: RussellA@assembly.state.ny.us
Angelo Santabarbara: SantabarbaraA@assembly.state.ny.us 
Luis Sepulveda: SepulvedaL@assembly.state.ny.us
Michael Simanowitz: SimanowitzM@assembly.state.ny.us 
Frank Skartados: SkartadosF@assembly.state.ny.us 
James Skoufis: SkoufisJ@assembly.state.ny.us 
Al Stirpe: StirpeA@assembly.state.ny.us