Tag Archives: SB 371

Louisiana Reptile Ban Talking Points

Louisiana_State_Capitol_at_nightEarlier today, Herp Alliance  announced the introduction of Louisiana Senate Bill 357.  SB 357 seeks to change existing Louisiana law.  Currently, to own one of the listed constrictors that is over 8′ in length, or to own a restricted venomous snake, a keeper must fall into one of the organizational exemptions (animal sanctuaries, zoos, aquariums, wildlife research centers, scientific organizations, and medical research facilities as defined in the Animal Welfare Act) or have a permit from the Louisiana Department of Wildlife and Fisheries.

SB 357 will change all of that so that all of the listed constrictors will be prohibited as well as all of the listed venomous snakes.  Private ownership will be banned and only the exempted organizations will be permitted to keep these animals.  The bill is slated to go into effect August 1, 2014, and there is no grandfathering for existing animals.

The Herp Alliance talking points against this bill can be found in the link below.  In addition, full contact information for every member of the Natural Resources Committee can be found below as well.  If you live in Louisiana or do business in Louisiana, please contact these committee members.  Keep your comments, brief, polite and professional.

Herp Alliance SB 357 Talking Points.

Natural Resources Committee

Committee Members

Senator Gerald Long (Chairman)
P.O. Box 151
Winnfield, LA 71483

(318) 628-5799
longg@legis.la.gov
Senator Rick Ward, III (Vice-Chairman)
3741 Highway 1
Port Allen, LA 70767

(225) 246-8838
wardr@legis.la.gov
Senator R.L. “Bret” Allain, II
600 Main Street
Suite 1
Franklin, LA 70538

(337) 828-9107
allainb@legis.la.gov
Senator “Jody” Amedee
2109 S. Burnside Ave.
Suite A
Gonzales, LA 70737

(225) 644-1526
amedeej@legis.la.gov
Senator Norbèrt N. “Norby” Chabert
P.O. Box 2417
Houma, LA 70361

(985) 858-2927
chabertn@legis.la.gov
Senator Jean-Paul J. Morrell
6305 Elysian Fields Ave.
Suite 404
New Orleans, LA 70122

(504) 284-4794
morrelljp@legis.la.gov
Senator Dan “Blade” Morrish
119 W. Nezpique Street
Jennings, LA 70546

(337) 824-3979
morrishd@legis.la.gov
Senator Page Cortez (Interim Member)
101 W. Farrell Road
Bldg. 5, Suite 100
Lafayette, LA 70508

(337) 993-7430
cortezp@legis.la.gov